Tutorial- Holiday Trimmings for your Miniature and Dwarf Conifer Gardens

There is no way to escape it- the holiday season is upon us.  It seems like everywhere you turn these days there are santas, ornaments and holiday trimmings as far as the eye can see.  I’m always looking for a cute craft to help me embrace the season before the carols overtake the radio and the mood turns from delightful to slightly frenzied.

When I was browsing Pinterest the other day, I found this adorable little craft that I thought would be great for my small patio container. I like to move my patio container from my back porch onto my front porch as soon as I put my wreath up in December. It is fun to find new ways to incorporate my miniature and dwarf conifers into my decorations each year.  I try to put extra effort into my front porch and I always get complements on my decorations.  Last year my Father-in-law found some adorable little holiday critters to adorn my container. This year, I thought I would surprise him with some of these little beauties!

For the tutorial on how to make the reindeer, I followed this blog. Here is the pin where I found it.  Finally, here is how my little reindeer project turned out. It was very easy and it only took me about 10 minutes to make both Reindeer.  Wouldn’t it be so fun to have these guys around a mini railroad set at the holidays? These mini conifers make this adorable.

Image

Image

For fun, here is a photo of the container from last year.  The mini snowmen and nutcrackers came from Walgreens, of all places. They have a great selection at really reasonable prices.

Image

For anyone who is interested, here is a list of the plants in my container. Clockwise from top left:

Cryptomeria japonica`Tansu`
Juniperus communis `Compressa`,
Chamaecyparis lawsoniana `Treasure Island`,
Cryptomeria japonica `Tenzan`,
Juniperus horaizontalis `Blue Pygmy`

How are you getting ready for the holidays? Are you using dwarf and miniature conifers in your preparations?

Leave a Reply

