Spring DIY- Easter Centerpiece

Each year we host an Easter get together for our families, and each year I try to think of new and interesting ways to decorate my table. This year I decided to try a little DIY centerpiece and let that be the focal point of the entire table.

IMG_2526

Here’s how it all came together:

First, I started with a basket that I had laying around from a left over Christmas care package.

IMG_2465

I pulled out my trusty craft paints.

IMG_2466

And I started painting, working my way from the bottom up. I chose a mix of pastels, because it felt very festive.

IMG_2467

IMG_2504

Then I took it outside, added some soil and potted up the plants. First the conifers, then filling in with flowers.

IMG_2505

I used the following plants:

Cham pisifera `Plumosa Compressa Aurea’– a good little color spot to offset the flowers.

Cham thyoides `Little Jamie’– I loved the blue-green leaves that worked in with the colors of my basket.

IMG_2510

I also used a variegated pansy and an impatient, but you can use whatever you like, or has great colors for your basket! Of course, I also tucked in a cute little bunny figure I already had in my holiday décor, but he came from Cost Plus World Market if you’re looking for a source. I also added a plastic egg, because we do an egg hunt for the kiddos.

IMG_2515

This was a really quick little project and already looks great on my dining room table. I plan to move it outside after the holiday, but for now it sits here.

IMG_2523

I think I’m most excited to see how this transitions from ‘one-time use’ to something fun for the patio this summer. What are some other ways of incorporating dwarf and miniature conifers into centerpieces?

Leave a Reply

